top of page

The APS Collectors Lounge

We are delighted to introduce our Collectors Lounge Partner for Virtual Stampex 2024, the American Philatelic Society. 

Thank you to everyone who joined our Chatroom over the 72 hour live show!

 

Do check out the links in the Lounge - which will take you to our Video Vault recordings of APS Presentations, Take Overs, Show & Tells and activities we all shared together, online. 

Login at https://stampex.vfairs.com

Thursday, May 2

APS Presents: APRL Reference Power Hour

Time: 2 p.m. BST/9 a.m. EDT - 5 p.m. BST/12 p.m. EDT

Description: The American Philatelic Research Library is one of the world’s largest collections of philatelic literature – and during the APRL Reference Power Hour event, we’re opening the library and its resources to the STAMPEX audience! Whether you need help tracking down a tricky postmark or have a general question about the APRL, Librarian Marian Mills and Reference Assistant Nate Fenush will be standing by from 9 a.m. EDT (2 p.m. BST) until 12 p.m. EDT (5 p.m. BST) to find you answers.

RECORDING AVAILABLE UNDER VIDEOS @ BOOTH S2 AT VIRTUAL STAMPEX

APS Presents: The Scourge of the Modern Counterfeit with Wayne Youngblood

Time: 4 p.m. BST/11 a.m. EDT - 5 p.m. BST/12 p.m. EDT

Description: Once upon a time, any sharp-eyed philatelist could pick out a counterfeit postage stamp from the real deal – but those days are over. Join philatelic writer, editor, and modern counterfeit expert Wayne Youngblood as he discusses the rise of a new generation of counterfeits, the ramifications of this growing crisis, and how you can help counter the counterfeiters.

RECORDING AVAILABLE UNDER VIDEOS @ BOOTH S2 AT VIRTUAL STAMPEX

APS Presents: Five Reasons to Buy (and Sell) on APS StampStore

Time: 5 p.m. BST/12 p.m. EDT - 6 p.m. BST/1 p.m. EDT

Description: Did you know that you can shop over 200,000 philatelic items from the collections of APS members on APS StampStore? You can, and you can do it from anywhere in the world! Join APS Director of Sales Carol Hoffman and Director of Membership & Shows Wendy Masorti as they show you around APS StampStore on HipStamp, take your questions, and show you why you should be buying (and selling) through StampStore.

RECORDING AVAILABLE UNDER VIDEOS @ BOOTH S2 AT VIRTUAL STAMPEX

APS Presents: Learning without Limits – Taking a Global Approach to Education

Time: 6 p.m. BST/1 p.m. EDT – 7 p.m. BST/2 p.m. EDT

Description: The American Philatelic Society is building a new, comprehensive and interactive online learning platform, Stamp S.C.H.O.O.L. APS Executive Director Scott English and Director of Education Shaun McMurtrie discuss online learning, building curriculum for beginners, intermediate, and expert collectors, learning without limits, micro-credentialing, and the inspiring man who made this new platform possible.

RECORDING AVAILABLE UNDER VIDEOS @ BOOTH S2 AT VIRTUAL STAMPEX

 

StampEd Takeover: Ask Us Anything

Time: 8 p.m. BST/3 p.m. EDT - 10 p.m. BST/5 p.m. EDT

Format: Live chat/text

Description: In February, the APS launched StampEd, a new, digital magazine for the next generation of stamp collectors. Join Editor-in-Chief Susanna Mills and Digital Editor Nora Bryson in the APS-sponsored Collectors Lounge live chat as they take questions on all things StampEd, from the origin of the magazine to what’s coming in future issues.

RECORDING AVAILABLE UNDER VIDEOS @ BOOTH S2 AT VIRTUAL STAMPEX

Friday, May 3

APS Presents: Stamp ID Power Hour

Time: 3 p.m. BST/10 a.m. EDT - 5 p.m. BST/12 p.m. EDT

Description: Have an item in your collection that you can’t identify? The APS is here to lend a helping hand. Join us for the Stamp ID Power Hour event from 3 p.m. BST (10 a.m. EDT) to 5 p.m. BST (12 p.m. EDT), and our experts will be available to review your material and offer their opinion of what you have on your hands. For best results, please email high resolution photos or scans of your material and any other information you have about it to digitalcontent@stamps.org prior to the event. Please submit only one item to give everyone a chance to participate!

RECORDING AVAILABLE UNDER VIDEOS @ BOOTH S2 AT VIRTUAL STAMPEX

StampEd Takeover: Let’s Talk Stamp Tech with Christina Tang-Bernas

Time: 5 p.m. BST/12 p.m. EDT to 6 p.m. BST/1 p.m. EDT

Description: Join APS Editor-in-Chief Susanna Mills and collector and StampEd author Christina Tang-Bernas as they talk StampEd, thermochromic ink, and stamp NFTs.

RECORDING AVAILABLE UNDER VIDEOS @ BOOTH S2 AT VIRTUAL STAMPEX

StampEd Takeover: Sort Stamps with Us

Time: 6 p.m. BST/1 p.m. EDT to 7 p.m. BST/2 p.m. EDT

Description: Got a pile of stamps waiting to be inventoried and added to your album or stockbook? So do we! Why not take this opportunity to carve out some time in your busy schedule and get those stamps sorted – or just join us for a moment of calm during a busy show?

RECORDING AVAILABLE UNDER VIDEOS @ BOOTH S2 AT VIRTUAL STAMPEX

APS Presents: Digital Libraries – The Future of Philatelic Research?

Time: 7 p.m. BST/2 p.m. EDT - 8 p.m. BST/3 p.m. EDT

Description: The American Philatelic Research Library’s Robert A. Mason Digital Library makes an ever-growing selection of the APRL’s holdings available online to a worldwide audience, absolutely free. Join APRL Digital Librarian Geoff Hobart for this presentation and Q&A session centered on the RAMDL that will explore the challenges and opportunities of the digital setting for philatelic research and knowledge preservation.

RECORDING AVAILABLE UNDER VIDEOS @ BOOTH S2 AT VIRTUAL STAMPEX

You Shall Go to the Ball – Designing Cinderellas with Bruce Licher

Time: Friday, May 3, 9 p.m. BST/4 p.m. EDT - 10 p.m. BST/5 p.m. EDT

Everything’s more interesting when you add stamps to the mix – and that’s certainly the approach musician, indie record label owner, and graphic designer Bruce Licher has taken. In this StampEd Takeover, Bruce will join APS Editor-in-Chief Susanna Mills to talk about the cinderella stamps he’s produced for album launches, international events, and more in anticipation of articles to appear in both The American Philatelist and StampEd.

RECORDING AVAILABLE UNDER VIDEOS @ BOOTH S2 AT VIRTUAL STAMPEX

Saturday, May 4

APS Presents: An Expertizing Primer

Time: 3 p.m. BST/10 a.m. EDT - 4 p.m. BST/11 a.m. EDT

Description: You probably know that expertizing is an essential element of organized philately, but how much do you know about the actual process? Join APS Director of Expertizing Ken Martin for an overview of expertizing from the American perspective, from methods and technology to the most commonly encountered challenges.

RECORDING AVAILABLE UNDER VIDEOS @ BOOTH S2 AT VIRTUAL STAMPEX

StampEd Takeover: Show and Tell

Time: BST 9 p.m./4 p.m. EDT - BST 10 p.m./5 p.m. EDT

Description: Wrap up the show with a chance to show off your favorite philatelic items, whether they’ve been in your collection for years or minutes! APS Editor-in-Chief Susanna Mills will be on hand to host as collectors from around the world share their favorite stamps and covers.

RECORDING AVAILABLE UNDER VIDEOS @ BOOTH S2 AT VIRTUAL STAMPEX

bottom of page